Fall 2014 Trends

My favorite season is almost here! I cannot wait for the brisk air and orange trees and, of course, the clothes! Fall clothes are always what I look forward to all year. So, today, I am going to tell you all about the trends for this fall.

Screen shot 2014-08-14 at 5.42.23 PM

60s Style 

I am super excited for this trend; it is totally new and totally fun. This season, the streets will be filled with girls in A-line mini skirts and knee-high socks paired with oxfords. Another popular 60s style is the collared dress. My favorite style for this trend will be mid-length, long sleeved dresses. Specifically, this dress from the Lookbook Store is so trendy and elegant. The best thing about this trend is that it is so flattering.

Crazy Prints

Prints are not necessarily a new thing, but this year we are wearing them a little differently. We will see prints on all articles of clothing, and they will be paired with other prints. This outfit from Nordstrom shows the ‘mixing prints’ trend perfectly. This year, fashion is backwards: the more prints and the crazier the print, the better.

Wrap Coat

Much like the 60s style, this trend is extremely flattering. The wrap coat will literally look good on anyone – I swear. The tie immediately accentuates the waist, creating the illusion of both a smaller waist and a curvier body shape. I especially love wrap coats that have large collars.

Large Turtleneck

How appropriate for the fall – thank goodness! It is so great that a fall trend is actually going to keep us toasty warm this year. I just wish I kept the turtlenecks I wore from the 90s. I think this trend made a great comeback; enlarging the neckline of a turtleneck was genius, whoever thought that one up. It gives the old, worn out fashion a high-end, chic look.

Statement Bags

This trend is great because it is so customizable. A statement bag could literally be anything; it could look like an old boom box, it could say something, it could have tons of hardware on it, literally anything that makes it stand out. My favorite way to wear this trend is as a clutch.

Dress Over Pants

This trend I am a little hesitant about. It is pretty difficult to pull off wearing a dress over pants – not leggings – pants, like jeans. Do not get me wrong – I think the trend is so chic and I will definitely try to pull it off. I would say that the easiest way to wear this trend is with black skinny jeans.

Thank you so much for reading! Please share a photo with me of you wearing your favorite fall trend @maurabugara with the hashtag #FallTrendsWithTheBug

Talk to you soon!

Leave a Reply

