Review: Maybelline Eye Studio Lasting Drama Gel Eye Liner

eye-studio-lasting-drama-gel-eyeliner_pack-shot-crop

I recently picked up the Maybelline Eye Studio Lasting Drama gel eyeliner. The liner comes like most high end gel liners: in a small pot with a brush. The product claims to be smudge proof and waterproof for 24 hours, oil-free, and safe for sensitive eyes. For ten dollars, you get .106 oz. of the gel liner, which is a great deal considering most high end gel liners cost twenty-five dollars for the same amount of product.

My experience using the liner has been wonderful; it does everything it claims to do, and it is incredibly easy to apply. I use my own eyeliner brush from Tarte, just because that’s what I am used to using, and I am able to apply the thinnest line of eyeliner I have ever seen. At the same time, the liner easily builds and can create a thick line, perfect for smudging into a smokey eye. I was even able to create this Lorde eye look for Valentine’s day.

In terms of wear, I have worn the eyeliner for an entire day (first applying my Benefit Stay Don’t Stray eye primer) and it did not smudge for fade at all. The only issue I saw was a tiny, faded line that had transferred from my lash line to the crease of my eyelid. But, this happens every time I wear eyeliner (I have pretty hooded eyelids) and it is usually a lot worse than what happened with the Maybelline liner.

When I bought the eyeliner, I was a little hesitant because it is waterproof. Now, I know waterproof is usually a blessing, but when it comes to eyeliner I am not a fan. Most of my eyeliners are extremely difficult to remove and they are NOT waterproof. I use the Simple Skincare Radiance Cleansing Wipes so, I try not to use any products that are difficult to remove in order to reduce irritation from rubbing the wipes on my eyes. Luckily, the Maybelline gel eyeliner comes off as easily as my eyeshadows, which is a dream. That is not to say that it is not waterproof. I cannot definitely say if it is waterproof or not because I have not gone swimming (there is snow on the ground) and I have rubbed it with my fingers and it did not move.

Regardless, I definitely recommend the Maybelline Eye Studio Lasting Drama gel eyeliner. It is affordable and acts just like a high end eyeliner, but is smoother and easier to apply and remove. I will absolutely repurchase this product; it is my new go-to eye makeup product.

Thanks so much for reading! Please comment below and let me know if you are also loving the Maybelline gel liner or if you have discovered another miracle drugstore gel liner! Also, make sure to check out my Twitter and Instagram @maurabugara

Leave a Reply

