How To Dress For the “In Between” Season

photo by: Josh Jones Photos

photo by: Josh Jones Photos

Hey guys!! Today I am going to talk about something that has caused me great stress and frustration in the past couple of weeks – the weather! Being a Jersey girl, I have to adapt to unusually bipolar weather conditions. For example, I was frozen solid yesterday and today I cannot look outside without squinting. For those of you who have that urge to wear shorts because it is Spring, but cannot because you are shivering, I am here to help! I will explain to you how I plan my outfits for the bipolar season and, hopefully, help sooth your scattering brain in the morning.

The first thing I do in the morning is check the weather. I have weather.com bookmarked for NJ on my bookmarks bar – super convenient. Now, all of my outfits accord to the weather so I will begin with one weather condition and continue with the rest.

First, “sunny, in the high 50s/low 60s”. This is SO confusing, right? How am I supposed to dress for that kind of weather – it makes no sense. On a day like this, I would wear something warm, such as jeans or high socks and a long sleeved or 3/4 sleeved top, but dress in bright colors. Since the sun makes it seem like it should be hot, dressing in bright colors will allow you to blend in to the scene. But, we do not want anyone frozen solid, so dress warmly and stay covered!

Another weather condition I often run in to is “rainy, in the high 60s/ low 70s”. This situation is perfect for a hat. Feel free to wear a dress or shorts, but I would ditch the flip flops and sun glasses. Dress in darker colors to match the atmosphere and go for a knit hat and maybe a scarf. Also, sleeves will work nicely with a hat to keep the cold raindrops off your skin.

Probably the trickiest weather condition to dress for is “partly cloudy and in the high 60s/70s“. This calls for judgement. You kind of have to determine what partly cloudy means on your own terms. That being said, I think it is safe to say a sweater or jacket of some kind should be carried around. Colors depend on the “partly cloudy” type of weather in your town. I would mix colors. For example, a dark dress with high socks accented with bright colors and a scarf to match the accented color.

Lastly, (I do not think anyone has trouble with this, but I feel like I should mention it) when it is sunny with warm temperatures, dress in bright colors and cool clothes. Conversely, if it is cold with cooler temperatures, dress in darker colors and warm clothes.

Thank you guys so much for reading. I hope this was helpful! Keep checking in for more posts!

2 thoughts on “How To Dress For the “In Between” Season

  1. Pingback: How To: Styling! | The Style Bug

Leave a Reply

