DIY: Storage Box

Hey guys! I have a particularly small room so, storage space is critical. I have discovered all kinds of ways to store things so that my room does not look atrociously cluttered. The main way I store things is in a box. Now, instead of buying expensive boxes, I make them. I just made one for my styling tools so I thought I would share the process with you. Here we go!

Materials:

IMG_5337

a shoebox

pictures of your choice

duct Tape (of any color or print)

scotch Tape

scissors

any other embellishments you would like to use

and a snack! because this is going to take a while

First, take the lid from the shoebox and cover it completely with duct tape. You can apply the duct tape however you wish-I go the organized way and just line it up in rows so it kind of looks like one continuous cover.

IMG_5346

Next, apply any items that need to dry on your lid. For me, I painted some areas and then glued on some fun buttons, bells, and lace.

IMG_5373

While those items are drying, take your photos and cut them into the size that you would like. If the photo is mainly of a person(s), I cut it so that all that is left is the person(s) and if the photo is of a building or the background looks nice, I just trim it a little. You can decide.

IMG_5350

Once you have cut your photos, begin taping them to the sides of the shoebox. Use ‘doughnut style’ pieces of tape so that it is not visible. I suggest starting with all of the larger photos so that, if necessary, smaller photos can be placed on top of the larger ones. This will make the box have a more collage effect, like so…

IMG_5362

Finally, make any finishing touches to your lid and place it back upon the box. Voilà! A gorgeous storage box, free of charge.

IMG_5374

Thanks so much for reading! I hope you try this out; tell me how it goes, if you do! Let me know what else you would like to see on this blog or my YouTube channel! Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

